Home Education Universities Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) – www.smu.ac.za

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) – www.smu.ac.za


Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is a university in Pretoria North, Gauteng Province, South Africa. Its current incarnation was formed on 1 January 2015. Previously it was known as Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) and later as a campus of the University of Limpopo. It is named after South African ANC leader Sefako Makgatho. Since its name-change, students have colloquially referred to the institution using the acronym of its current name (“SMU”) in a similar fashion to manner in which they used the acronym “MEDUNSA” to refer to the institution prior to the change of name.

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 60, Medunsa, 0204
Physical Molotlegi Street, Ga-Rankuwa, Pretoria, Gauteng
Tel 012 521 5057/59/62
Fax 012 560 0086
Web www.smu.ac.za


Overseeing Department/Entity

  • Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Share this post with your Friends:

Previous articleUniversity of Fort Hare (UFH)
Next articleUniversity of Mpumalanga (UMP) – www.ump.ac.za


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here