Home Education Universities Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)

Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


Tshwane University of Technology (TUT; Afrikaans: Tshwane-Universiteit vir Tegnologie) is a higher education institution in South Africa that came into being through a merger of three technikons — Technikon Northern Gauteng, Technikon North-West and Technikon Pretoria.

See also – Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT) – www.mut.ac.za

As the number of students registering annually grows rapidly, records show that Tshwane University of Technology caters for approximately 90,000 students and it has become the largest residential higher education institution in South Africa.


Tshwane University of Technology

Hockey match at the Pretoria campus

The university occupies eight campuses: Pretoria, Soshanguve, Ga-Rankuwa, Witbank (eMalahleni), Mbombela (Nelspruit) and Polokwane. Two faculties, namely the Faculties of Science and The Arts, have dedicated campuses in the Pretoria city centre.

Student enrollment

There were 88,078 students enrolled for the year 2012 at the Tshwane University of Technology. It was estimated, for the year 2014, that the number of first year student applications the university received were around 80,000. Tshwane University of Technology predominantly provides vocational qualifications in the form of three-year diplomas. Articulation options exist in the form of advanced diplomas, postgraduate and masters and doctoral degrees. These qualifications are offered through the following faculties:

See also – List of Universities In South Africa

  • Faculty of Arts and Design
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Economics and Finance
  • Faculty of Management Sciences (including Business School)


In 2010 Webometrics ranked the university the 15th best in South Africa and 5662th in the world. In 2018, the university ranked 9th best university in South Africa

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) ranks the university’s Department of Journalism as one of twelve Potential Centres of Excellence in Journalism Training in Africa.

See also – Durban University of Technology (DUT) – www.dut.ac.za

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X680, Pretoria, 0001
Physical Staatsartillerie Road, Pretoria West
Tel 012 382 5911
Fax 012 382 5114
Web www.tut.ac.za

Overseeing Department/Entity

  • Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)

The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, contact us so that we may correct them.

Previous articleMangosuthu University of Technology (MUT) – www.mut.ac.za
Next articleVaal University of Technology (VUT)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here